CAOT-BC Outstanding Occupational Therapist of the Year Award

The Canadian Association of Occupational Therapists – British Columbia will recognize members living in British Columbia who have made an outstanding contribution to the profession throughout his or her career. Only one (1) award will be granted each year. Nominations for this Award will be considered annually but the Award will be made only when recognition is merited in accordance with stated criteria. Nominators whose nomination is unsuccessful in a particular year may allow the nomination to stand for a maximum of three successive years.

Criteria for Selection

Nominations must meet the following criteria:

  1. Nominees shall be individual or life members of the Canadian Association of Occupational Therapists currently living in British Columbia.
  2. Nominees shall have worked as an occupational therapist for a minimum of five years.
  3. Nominees shall be making, or have made contributions that influence the profession, directly or indirectly, in at least one of the following areas:
    • Demonstrating dedication to education and guiding, supporting and encouraging the development of occupational therapy students;
    • Demonstrating expertise or innovation in one or more practice areas in roles in academic or practice education, consultation, administration or research;
    • Developing an innovative occupational therapy practice or working extensively with community/client groups;
    • Making a sustained commitment to the profession by acting as a leader and a role model.

Download the CAOT-BC Outstanding Occupational Therapist of the Year Award Nomination Form.

Visit the CAOT-BC General Information page.

2019 Recipient

Janice Duivestein

Janice is recognized for her extensive contributions to the field of dysphagia management where she has been instrumental in revolutionizing practice, advocating for the role of occupational therapists, and educating professionals in other disciplines in Canada and around the world. Janice has authored, contributed to, and reviewed dysphagia publications in order to advance this body of knowledge. Her work has set her apart as a passionate practice innovator, leader, skilled educator and valued mentor. Internationally, Janice is a Board member of the International Dysphagia Diet Standardization Initiative that aims to standardize terminology and descriptors through creation of a framework, and she assisted in the establishment of the first ever Feeding Service team in China. Janice is dedicated to ethical practice and committed to focusing on the needs and strengths of her clients, students, mentees, and colleagues.

Past Recipients

Stephen Epp

Susan Forwell

Patti Erlendson

Dianna Mah-Jones 

Susan Bonney

Sarabjeet Charchun 

Copyright 2016 Canadian Association of Occupational Therapists
powered by in1touch
100-34 Colonnade Road
Ottawa, ON K2E 7J6 Canada