Award for Leadership in Occupational Therapy

This award has been established to recognize and honour the exceptional contributions of an individual occupational therapist who has been in the forefront of activities which provide strategic leadership and direction for developing the profession.

Submit a nomination

Award nomination deadline is December 1st.


2019 Recipient 

Kim Hewitt 
Her for her passion and vision in expanding opportunities for occupational therapy involvement in mental health and wellness; particularly in the area of suicide prevention. Kim’s influence has been far-reaching – in clinical practice, research, education, and community development – and her personal drive combined with exceptional client-centred skills have helped to achieve tangible outcomes in terms of increased student placements and OT job creation. Kim is a sought-after guest facilitator at universities and admired as a supervisor for student projects.  CAOT is grateful to Kim for founding and chairing the CAOT practice network “Addressing Suicide in Occupational Therapy Practice” as well as her support in developing our 2014 Professional Issue Forum “Suicide Prevention and the Role of Occupational Therapy.”

Past Recipients

Heidi Cramm
Melanie Weller

Judith Friedland    

Marlene Stern

Barbara Worth    

Shrikant J. Chinchalkar

Margo Paterson

Françoise Rollin     

Terry Krupa 

Élisabeth Dutil 


Copyright 2016 Canadian Association of Occupational Therapists
powered by in1touch
100-34 Colonnade Road
Ottawa, ON K2E 7J6 Canada